Upper School

    Click for alphabetical listings with email links:

    Upper School Administrative Offices

    Upper School Faculty, 9th-12th grade

    * Teaches/works in more than one division.

     

    Upper School Administrative Offices

    302.576.1285


    Kathryn Hendrix*
    Head, MS/US Library Media Center
    B.S., Pennsylvania State University
    M.L.S., Drexel University
    khendrix@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Sinead Horan
    Administrative Assistant, Upper School
    shoran@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Kathleen Martin
    Director of College Guidance
    B.A., Ithaca College
    kmartin@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Karen Melnick*
    Nurse, Middle & Upper School
    Diploma of Nursing, Epworth Hospital
    kmelnick@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Lynn Puritz-Fine
    Upper School Dean for Students

    Spanish
    Human Dynamics & Development
    B.A., Washington College
    M.Ed., University of Rochester
    lpuritzfine@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Lauryn Satterfield
    Upper School Registrar
    Administrative Assistant, College Guidance
    B.A., University of Delaware
    lsatterfield@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Jessica Smith
    College Couselor; English
    B.A., Mount Holyoke College
    M.S.Ed., University of Pennsylvania
    jsmith@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Rebecca Zug
    Head of Upper School

    Theory of Knowledge
    B.A., Harvard College
    M.Ed., Harvard University Graduate School of Education
    rzug@wilmingtonfriends.org

     

    Upper School Faculty

    Amy Bailey
    Mathematics
    B.S., Millersville University
    abailey@wilmingtonfriends.org

     

    Lea Spruance Beard '80
    Health and Human Dynamics
    B.A., Trinity College

    lsbeard@wilmingtonfriends.org
    (Please note the "s" in Lea's email address; we have two "lbeards" at Friends.)

    Bradey Bulk
    Head, Department of Foreign Languages

    French
    12th Grade Clerk
    B.A., College of William & Mary
    M.A., Pennsylvania State University
    bbulk@wilmingtonfriends.org


    Margaret Anne Butterfield
    Performing Arts
    B.M.Ed., Catholic University of America
    M.M., Manhattan School of Music
    mbutterfield@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Matt Cauchy
    Science
    B.S., M.S., University of Michigan
    mcauchy@wilmingtonfriends.org

     

    Elizabeth Cepparulo
    History
    B.A., Skidmore College
    J.D., Temple University Beasley School of Law
    M.A., Stanford University

    ecepparulo@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Scott Clothier
    Head, Department of History/Social Science
    B.A., Lycoming College
    sclothier@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Javier Ergueta
    History/Social Science

    Theory of Knowledge
    A.B., Harvard University
    M.B.A., Stanford School of Business
    jergueta@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Lauren Gutstein
    English
    B.A., M.Ed., University of Pennsylvania
    lgutstein@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Ellen Johnson
    Science
    B.S., Duke University
    Ph.D., Michigan State University
    ejohnson@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Kathryn Kenney
    English
    B.A., Colorado College
    M.A., University of Pennsylvania
    kkenney@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Cynthia Stan Mellow
    Visual Arts
    B.F.A., Colorado State University
    M.F.A., Pennsylvania State University
    cstanmellow@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Ildiko Miller
    Mathematics

    11th Grade Clerk

    Upper School Service Coordinator
    B.S., M.S., Jozsef Attila University (Hungary)
    imiller@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Donald Morton ’94
    History/Social Science

    10th Grade Clerk
    Upper School QUEST Coordinator
    B.A., M.A., University of Toledo
    dmorton@wilmingtonfriends.org

     

    Alejandra Navarro-Benbow
    Spanish
    B.A., Haverford College
    M.A., Villanova University
    anavarrobenbow@wilmingtonfriends.org

     

    Sarah O'Brien
    Science
    B.A., Pennsylvania State University
    B.A., University of Delaware
    M.S., University of Pennsylvania
    sobrien@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Sarah Stock Patterson
    Head, Department of Mathematics
    B.S., Cornell University
    Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    sstockpatterson@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Lynn Puritz-Fine*
    Upper School Dean for Students

    Spanish
    Human Dynamics & Development
    B.A., Washington College
    M.Ed., University of Rochester
    lpuritzfine@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Jake Rashkind
    Head, Department of English
    B.A., Dickinson College
    M.A.T., Brown University
    jrashkind@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Jason Rauscher
    Science
    B.A., Carleton College
    Ph.D., Washington University
    jrauscher@wilmingtonfriends.org

    John Roskovensky
    Mathematics
    B.S., University of Illinois
    M.S., Teachers College, Columbia University
    Ph.D., University of California
    jroskovensky@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Mark Schmittle
    Head, Department of Science Department

    9th Grade Clerk
    B.S., Allegheny College
    M.S., Texas A&M University
    mschmittle@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Daniel Scott
    English
    B.A., Kenyon College
    M.A.T., Hollins University
    dscott@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Jessica Smith
    English

    College Guidance
    B.A., Mount Holyoke College
    M.S.Ed., University of Pennsylvania
    jsmith@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Jenks Whittenburg
    Head, Department of Computer Science
    B.A., Trinity College
    M.F.A., Parsons School of Design
    jwhittenburg@wilmingtonfriends.org

     

    Mary Woodward
    Library Media Specialist

    Quakerism
    B.A., Randolph-Macon Woman's College
    mwoodward@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Xiaohong Xu
    Chinese
    B.A., Shanghai International Studies University
    M.S.Ed., Temple University
    M.A., Middlebury College
    xxu@wilmingtonfriends.org


    Chamby Zepeda
    Spanish
    B.A., M.A., Wheaton College
    M.A., Middlebury College
    czepeda@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Rebecca Zug
    Head of Upper School

    Theory of Knowledge
    B.A., Harvard College
    M.Ed., Harvard University Graduate School of Education
    rzug@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Wilmington Friends School
    101 School Road, Wilmington, DE 19803
    302.576.2900
    info@wilmingtonfriends.org