Middle School

    Click for alphabetical listings with email links:

    Middle School Administrative Offices

    Middle School Faculty, 6th-8th grade

    * Teaches/works in more than one division.

     

    Middle School Administrative Offices

    302.576.2908

    Kathryn Hendrix*
    Head, MS/US Library Media Center
    B.S., Pennsylvania State University
    M.L.S., Drexel University
    khendrix@wilmingtonfriends.org


    Jonathan Huxtable
    Head of Middle School
    B.A., Haverford College
    Ed.M., Harvard University
    jhuxtable@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Margot Johnson
    Administrative Assistant, Middle School
    A.S., Goldey-Beacom College
    mjohnson@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Kimberly Knight*
    Director, After-School Program
    B.A., University of Pittsburgh
    kknight@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Karen Melnick*
    Nurse, Middle & Upper School
    Diploma of Nursing, Epworth Hospital
    kmelnick@wilmingtonfriends.org


    Helen Thompson
    Middle School Dean for Student Life
    Human Dynamics & Development
    Science
    B.S., Marymount College
    B.S.N., University of Pennsylvania
    M.S., Villanova University
    hthompson@wilmingtonfriends.org

     

    Middle School Faculty

    Carlos Charriez
    Dean, Sixth Grade
    Science
    B.S., Pennsylvania State University
    ccharriez@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Sara Gaines*
    Head, Department of Performing Arts
    B.M.Ed., Ohio State University
    sgaines@wilmingtonfriends.org

    John Hanson
    Dean, Seventh Grade
    Associate History/Social Science Department Head for Middle School
    B.A., University of Iowa
    M.S., Johns Hopkins University
    jhanson@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Megan Hegenbarth
    Associate Mathematics Department Head for Middle School
    B.A., Colby College
    M.A.T., Wilmington University
    mhegenbarth@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Karen Horikawa
    Associate Science Department Head for Middle School
    B.A., Colgate University
    khorikawa@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Julie Hurst
    French
    B.A., Western Michigan University
    jhurst@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Stephanie Knudsen
    Associate English Department Head for Middle School
    B.A., Yale University
    M.Ed., John Carroll University
    sknudsen@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Robin Lebauer
    Mathematics
    B.A., Denison University
    rlebauer@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Paulo Machado
    Visual Arts
    B.F.A., University of Maryland
    M.F.A., Maryland Institute College of Art
    pmachado@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Amanda McMillan-Williams
    Dean, Eighth Grade
    English
    B.A., State University of New York
    M.S., Bank Street College of Education
    amcmillanwilliams@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Courtney Miller
    Spanish, French
    Middle School QUEST Coordinator
    B.A., College of William and Mary
    cmiller@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Laura Jersild Pardo ’90
    Spanish
    B.A., Washington University of St. Louis
    lpardo@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Jianglin Shin*
    Chinese
    B.A., Delaware State University
    B.M.E., Jiangsu Education Institute
    jshin@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Jerry Taylor
    Mathematics

    Applied Technology
    B.S., LaSalle University
    jtaylor@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Helen Thompson
    Middle School Dean for Student Life
    Human Dynamics & Development

    Science
    B.S., Marymount College
    B.S.N., University of Pennsylvania
    M.S., Villanova University
    hthompson@wilmingtonfriends.org


    Eric Tucker
    English
    B.S., State University of New York at Oneonta
    M.B.A., Adelphi University
    M.Ed., Wilmington College
    etucker@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Christopher Verry*
    Performing Arts
    B.M., University of Michigan
    cverry@wilmingtonfriends.org

    Wilmington Friends School
    101 School Road, Wilmington, DE 19803
    302.576.2900
    info@wilmingtonfriends.org